No results at this time.

Upcoming Events

Schedule TBA

Current Points

No points at this time.


Thrash Earns Inaugural Southern Thunder Series Event

Thrash Earns Inaugural Southern Thunder Series Event

MERIDIAN, Miss. (March 4) — Riding the top groove around Whynot Motorsports Park after taking the lead from early pacesetter and fast qualifier Jamey Boland on the fifth circuit, Nick Thrash of Meridian, Miss., rolled to victory in the inaugural Southern Thunder Series event that was held at the quarter-mile facility.

A product of long-time racing businessmen Robert Brown and Mike Boland, the fledgling series features Crate Racin’ USA Late Model Sportsman competitors, and the new touring series co-sanctioned their portion of the annual Battle of the States at the racy oval with the Eastaboga, Ala-based organization.

Thrash led the final 21 circuits in the 25-lapper and became the first winner in the traveling circuit’s history ahead of Boland, who earned the first Terry Wilson Fast Qualifier Award over a 28-car field with a lap clocked at 13.925 seconds.

Boland chased Thrash and finished 1.414 seconds behind the Meridian, Miss., driver, while the top five was filled out by Spencer Hughes, Covy Parsons and JC Wilson.

Boland jumped to a quick lead and paced the opening four circuits using the low lane at the Rodney and Cassie Wing-promoted track, but Thrash chased him down riding a higher line and eventually sailed around the outside of the early leader.

Thrash’s biggest threat came during the middle stages of the race when the leaders hit lapped traffic, and Hughes tossed a slider in the leader’s direction, but came up short and settled back.

Two cautions slowed the pace, and Boland re-emerged as a threat after slipping past Hughes on the outside for the second slot on a restart after the race’s final caution, but Thrash held sway with his choice of a top-lane journey, and was able to hold off Boland for the victory.

Battle of the States: 1. Nick Thrash, 2. Jamey Boland, 3. Spencer Hughes, 4. Covy Parsons, 5. JC Wilson, 6. Bailey Callahan, 7. Bradley Price, 8. Matt Grable, 9. Trent McLeod, 10. Osman Jones, 11. Terrell Harris, 12. Allen Edwards, 13. Brandon Buhler, 14. Dale Young, 15. Kason Harper, 16. Colby Ponds, 17. Shay Knight, 18. Zack Owens, 19. Justin McRee, 20. Devin Whatley, 21. Rick Hasselle, 22. Tripp Thomas, 23. Trace Armstrong, 24. Ellie Hughes.

Entries: 28
Terry Wilson Logging Fast Qualifier: Jamey Boland, 13.925 seconds.
Lead changes: 1
Lap leaders: Jamey Boland 1-4, Nick Thrash 5-25.
Margin of victory: 1.414 seconds
Heat winners: Jamey Boland, Nick Thrash, Colby Ponds, JC Wilson.
B-main winner: Trent McLeod.

Article Credit: Brian McLeod